Kings XI Punjab

2011, 2012, 2017

KPH Dream Cricket Private Limited
IS Bindra Stadium
Mike Hesson
Ravichandran Ashwin
Current Form

Kings XI Punjab also known as KXIP, have been a part of the IPL set up since its inauguration in 2008. Based in Mohali, Punjab the Kings XI Punjab play their home games at the incredible PCA Stadium. However, post 2010 the KXIP have played some their games at the picturesque stadium in Dharamshala and Indore. The Kings XI Punjab are part of an ‘elite’ group of teams in the IPL who have yet to get their hands on the IPL trophy. To make matters worse for the KXIP, it’s not like they have been getting close. Having only reached the playoffs twice in their history, with the last playoff match being in 2014.


The Kings XI Punjab team has been led by a new head coach every season, with the expectation of Tom Moody and Sanjay Bangar who both served as head coach for two years, it can sometimes be difficult for players to constantly have to adapt to different game plans. Along with different head coaches leading the KXIP team, there is also a new captain every season, and it doesn’t look likely Ravi Ashwin will maintain his role for the upcoming 2020 IPL season. The need to find the winning formula in their setup for Kings XI Punjab has led to this chopping and changing, which means they haven’t allowed themselves to lay down roots and build team cohesion like other IPL teams. Having begun the IPL in promising fashion and finishing as semi-finalists in 2008, it looked like KXIP was going to be a team watch out for. The team they had put together, to represent the 6 catchment areas of the region, looked very well balanced in all departments but as the years have gone many holes have started to appear.


The Kings XI Punjab roster will be interesting to keep your eyes on, as this is franchise in the IPL that’s not afraid to spend money on bringing top tier players into their squad. The most recent movement in the camp comes from the staff, with head coach Mike Hesson departing for RCB. The KXIP captain Ravi Ashwin, who has previously played for CSK and now defunct Rising Pune Supergiants, is looking likely to make a move from Kings XI Punjab to rivals Delhi Capitals. This would be a big loss for the KXIP team, as Ashwin has proven himself in the IPL and has wealth of experience which is why he is the 7th highest wicket-taker in IPL history. This would mean King XI Punjab will need to fill the void left behind by Ashwin and find a new spin bowler, as well as nominating a new captain for the new season.


The Kings XI Punjab team 2019 missed out on the playoffs to SRH due to an inferior net run rate. Having won 6 matches out of 14, the Kings XI Punjab team of 2019 were level with Sunrisers Hyderabad and Kolkata Knight Riders. However, Sunrisers Hyderabad had the superior net run rate out of the three teams and leaving KXIP to finish 6th in the group stages. KXIP managed to retain big players for the 2019 season with players such as Chris Gayle, David Miller and Ashwin all a part of their 2019 squad. As well as retaining players, KXIP brought in 13 new players to their team, with likes of Mohammed Shami amongst the new boys. Kings XI Punjab’s first half of the group stages wasn’t as bad as in previous seasons, however towards the latter end of the group stages they failed to put a string of victories together to reach the playoffs. The most notable positive for KXIP, was KL Rahul being the second highest runs scorer in the tournament and Mohammed Shami being the 7th highest wicket-taker.


The Kings XI Punjab team 2018 saw their chances to make the playoffs prior to the tournament increase, on paper at least, with the addition of Chris Gayle, Ravi Ashwin, Yuvraj Singh, KL Rahul and Aaron Finch. Ashwin was made captain while Australian Brad Hodge was made head coach. However, despite impressive individual performances from Chris Gayle and Andrew Tye who impressively picked up the purple cap with 24 wickets. KXIP did what they do best, they performed extremely well in the first half of the group stages and then failed to stay in the groove and push on to secure a playoff place, leaving them to finish in 7th place.


The Kings XI Punjab Team 2017 narrowly missed out on the playoffs due to a defeat to the now defunct Rising Pune Supergiant. Prior to the 2017 season, KXIP had finished last for two seasons in a row and were desperate to change their ways. The team was bolstered with batting prowess in the shape and form of Eoin Morgan and Hashim Amla. With the West Indian all-rounder Darren Sammy brought into the side to provide much needed balance. The team didn’t finish last for the first time in two seasons, but they didn’t make the playoffs either. Hashimi Amla made an impact in his first season with KXIP by making 420 runs and being the highest runs scorer.


The Kings XI Punjab owner or should I say owners bought the franchise for $76million in 2008. The owners are made up of Mohit Burman of Dabur Group (46%), Ness Wadia of Wadia Group (23%) and Bolllowod Superstar Pretty Zinta (23%), with the Dey & Dey group having a minor stake of in the franchise as well. You will often see Pretty Zinta at the Kings XI Punjab matches as she supports her team and uses her superstar status to promote the franchise worldwide.


The Kings XI Punjab Player list for the 2019 season is as follows:


Chris Gayle

David Miller

Nicholas Pooran

Mayank Agarwal

Sarfaraz Khan

Mandeep Singh


Sam Curran

Moises Henriques

Karun Nair

Wicket Keepers:

KL Rahul

Simran Singh


Ravichandran Ashwin (C)

Andrew Tye

Mohammed Shami

Murugan Ashwin

Agnivesh Ayachi

Harpreet Brar

Arshdeep Singh

Ankit Rajpoot

Varun Chakravarthy

Hardus Viljoen

Darshan Nalkande

Mujeeb Ur Rahman



Join our list for the latest news and updates on Kings XI Punjab

top wicket taker
Mohammed Shami
top runs scorer