The Kolkata Knight Riders have a celebrity owner in Shah Rukh Khan. Their home ground is Eden Gardens, which is the biggest in India by far. Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) has had a series of cricket superstars on its rosters over the years. KKR has, therefore, been one of the IPL teams that have always had a lot of attention on itself. That is why the two titles it has won so far, in 2012 and 2014, have been a bit of a letdown. Fans have believed that KKR has punched way below its weight over the years. Another team that has always captured the attention of fans and media alike is Chennai Super Kings (CSK). For the first 8 IPL editions of IPL, CSK reached the knockout stages every single year.

Last 5 matches:  CSK team   kkr  CSK team  CSK team CSK team

They were winners in 2 out of those eight years. Then they were banned for two years over allegations of match-fixing. In the next two years after their return, they have picked up the trophy once and been runners-up once. This has made the KKR-CSK rivalry one of the most keenly followed ones in the history of the IPL. One of the most keenly followed rivalries in IPL has been that of KKR and Chennai Super Kings (CSK). Let us dig deeper into some of the highlights of their recent face-offs.

The head to head might be skewed in favour of CSK. But KKR vs CSK have seen some memorable matches so far, with stellar performances from both sides. Specialized coaching and practice sessions are now organized for batting, bowling, or fielding. Captains are now more willing to think out of the box to catch the opponent off guard. In Dhoni and Kartik, both teams have wily leaders who can get the best out of their teams and lead by example. That is why IPL 2020 promises to bring us again at least two memorable clashes between these two highly respected and capable teams. Let us look forward to more such entertainers in IPL 2020.

KKR vs CSK 2018

After being out of IPL for two years, CSK was making its comeback to IPL in 2018. Eden Gardens was looking forward to seeing what Dhoni, the CSK talisman would do. But Dhoni was upstaged by a young cricketer half his age. Shubman Gill took just 36 balls to score a scintillating inning of 57 runs. Earlier, Piyush Chawla and Sunil Naraine, ably supported by Kuldeep Yadav, had restricted CSK to a gettable score of 177 in their 20 overs. KKR scored the runs with more than two overs to spare.

The recent form heavily favours the CSK, winning 4 out 5 matches.

KKR vs CSK 2019

CSK came back stronger in 2019. They were up against a marginally smaller target this time. KKR wasn’t able to benefit from a 51 ball 82 by Chris Lynn and put up a score of only 161 in the first innings. CSK’s old warhorse Suresh Raina came well in this match. His 58 was ably supported by a typically swashbuckling inning of 31 by Ravindra Jadeja off just 17 balls. CSK won by five wickets, with two balls to spare.


The other game of IPL 2019 between these two great teams was played at Chennai. This time, too, CSK defeated KKR, keeping their 2019 head to head slate clean. KKR collapsed to 108 in 20 overs, with Andre Russell playing a lone hand with 50 runs in 44 balls. CSK made short work of the target with almost three overs to spare. Du Plessis scored an unbeaten 43.

KKR vs CSK Live

The games between these two teams have always generated a lot of interest. In case you are unable to go to either Chennai or Kolkata in 2020 for the two league games, they will play, you have help at hand. There is, of course, the TV telecast you can enjoy. Additionally, IPL has put in place several deals with live streaming sites. This will ensure you don’t miss even a minute of the action.

KKR vs CSK Head to Head

The two teams have clashed 23 times so far, including the knockout rounds. CSK has 14 of these matches, stamping their authority over KKR head to head. But surprisingly, only Raina and Dhoni feature in the list of top 5 batsmen by runs in these 22 clashes. This is an indicator of how the entire lineup of CSK pitches in when needed, and scoring is not done just by a few players. The bowling leaderboard for maximum wickets has 3 CSK players in Ashwin, Jadeja, and Bravo. An incident comparison between these two teams shows that CSK has the maximum win percentage of 61% in the IPL, despite being away for two seasons. They have also notched up the highest number of Fair Play Awards (6 so far).

KKR, on the other hand, holds the record for the longest winning streak in a single season in IPL history. They had nine wins on the trot in 2014. Since they won their first match in IPL 2015 as well, they also hold the record for most consecutive wins overall as well (10). Also, Suresh Raina of CSK holds the record for the highest number of IPL matches played (193). His captain Dhoni holds the record for the highest number of matches as captain (174). Chris Gayle of KKR has won the maximum number of Man of The Match trophies in IPL so far (20). There is no doubt that KKR and CSK have been two of the best teams in IPL across seasons.

Games Played: 23

Chennai Super Kings wins: 14

Kolkata Knight Riders wins: 8

Abandoned: 1

Apr 9, 2019 – 23rd Match at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chepauk, Chennai

Kolkata Knight Riders 108/9 (20 ov) vs Chennai Super Kings 111/3 (17.2/20 ov)

Chennai Super Kings won by 7 wickets (with 16 balls remaining)

Best Batsmen: Andre Russell *50 (44) & Best Bowler: Deepak Chahar 3/20 (4)

33rd match, (N) at Kolkata, May 3 2018

Chennai Super Kings 177/5 vs Kolkata Knight Riders 180/4 (17.4/20 ov, target 178)

KKR won by 6 wickets (with 14 balls remaining)

5th match, (N) at Chennai, Apr 10 2018

Kolkata Knight Riders 202/6 vs Chennai Super Kings 205/5 (19.5/20 ov, target 203)

Super Kings won by 5 wickets (with 1 ball remaining)

2019ChennaiCSK7 WicketsDeepak Chahar – 3/20
2019KolkataCSK5 WicketsImran Tahir 4/27
2018ChennaiCSK5 wicketsSam Billings – CSK – 56 (23)
2018KolkataKKR6 wicketsSunil Narine – KKR – 2/20 and 32 (20)
2015ChennaiCSK2 runsDwayne Bravo – CSK – 3/22
2015KolkataKKR7 wicketsAndre Russell – KKR – 2/20 and 55* (32)
2014RanchiCSK34 runsRavindra Jadeja – KKR – 17* (10) and 4/12
2014KolkataKKR8 wicketsRobin Uthappa – KKR – 67 (39)
2014HyderabadKKR3 wicketsAndre Russell – KKR – 58 (25)
2014BangaloreCSK8 wicketsPawan Negi – CSK – 5/22
2013KolkataCSK4 wicketsRavindra Jadeja – CSK – 3/20 and 36* (14)
2013ChennaiCSK14 runsMichael Hussey – CSK – 95 (59)
2012ChennaiKKR5 wicketsGautam Gambhir – KKR – 63 (52)
2012KolkataCSK5 wicketsMichael Hussey – CSK – 56 (39)
2012ChennaiKKR5 wicketsManvinder Bisla – KKR – 89 (48)
2011ChennaiCSK2 runsSrikkanth Anirudha – CSK – 64 (55)
2011KolkataKKR10 runsIqbal Abdulla – KKR – 1/15
2010KolkataCSK55 runsMS Dhoni – CSK – 66* (33)
2010ChennaiCSK9 wicketsRavichandran Ashwin – CSK – 3/16
2009Cape TownMatch Abandoned
2009CenturionKKR7 wicketsBrad Hodge – KKR – 71* (44)
2008ChennaiCSK9 wicketsJacob Oram – CSK – 3/32
2008KolkataCSK3 runsMakhaya Ntini – CSK – 4/21