Take a superstar franchise owner, add the biggest cricket stadium in India, mix the most vocal and knowledgeable groups of spectators and you have a recipe for the best home ground advantage. Then there are the technical advantages of having a pitch that is tailored to suit your bowling attack. The final ingredient is a steady procession of very talented T20 cricketers. All of this should add up to a winning combination for any IPL team. Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) has all of these advantages. Some critics say that KKR’s IPL record should have been better than the two titles they have won in 2012 and 2014. Be that as it may, KKR remains one of the better teams in the IPL.

At the other end of the spectrum is Kings XI Punjab. They have never really taken off in IPL, although they have had their high points. Their best showing so far has been in 2014, when they topped the league stage. But true to their habit of performing lower than their potential, KXIP finished runners up that year, failing to go the distance. The eventual winner that year was KKR, and we will take a look at the rivalry between these two teams in recent times and over the years.

Last 5 matches: kings punjab  kings punjabkkr  kkr  kkr  

KKR vs KXIP 2017

KXIP batted first, and they didn’t too badly with their first use of the wicket. There was not a single score above 30 in their innings, though. But there were a string of scores in the high 20s, allowing KXIP to notch up a total of 170 in 20 overs. Hashim Amla and Manan Vohra led from the front. Maxwell, Miller, and Saha also contributed. Umesh Yadav took 4 wickets for KKR. Later, KKR made short work of the target. They closed the game with almost 4 overs to spare. Their openers Narine and Gambir came good, with Gambhir top-scoring with 72. Uthappa and Pandey ensured there were no hiccups. They guided the innings through to victory without breaking a sweat.

KKR are well ahead of the Kings in head to head count, winning 68% of games.

KKR vs KXIP 2018

In world cricket today, one of the least understood rules is the Duckworth Lewis method for rain-marred games. It is also one of the most hated. The reason is it often throws up crazy results that are completely against the run of play. We all remember what South Africa went through in their semifinal against England in the semi-final of World Cup 1992. The Duckworth Lewis Method was introduced after that. The Eden Gardens game between KKR and KXIP was unlucky enough to have a DLS ending. KKR notched up as many as 191 runs in their first innings. They were powered by a scintillating 71 off 41 by Chris Lynn. Captain Karthik also scored a fine 43. K.L. Rahul led the charge with a 60, accompanied by a blistering 62 by Gayle in just 38 balls. When the rain delay ended, KXIP was left to score just 29 in 28 balls, which is a cakewalk by T20 standards. They did it without too much fuss.

KKR vs KXIP 2019

Robin Uthappa came to the party in the 2019 game between KKR and KXIP at the Eden Gardens. He scored a measured 67 off 50 deliveries. This was bolstered by two great innings down the order. Nitish Rana scored 63 in just 34 balls. The icing on the cake came from Andre Russell, however. He blasted 48 runs in just 17 balls, helping KKR reach 218 in their 20 overs. It did look a lost cause, but KXIP did put up a semblance of a fight. Miller and Mayank Agarwal scored fluent half-centuries and Mandeep Singh also chipped in with some runs. The target proved to be just beyond KXIP, however. They lost the match by 28 runs.

KKR vs KXIP Live

In case you are keen to watch the next KKR vs KXIP match in 2020, you have plenty of options. If you are unable to go to the stadium to watch it live, you could opt for live streaming. There are several companies providing high-quality feeds of IPL matches.

KKR vs KXIP Match Prediction

The last time KKR met KXIP, the two teams played at Mohali. The openers (including Gayle) didn’t amount for much in the first innings of KXIP. The middle-order did shore up the innings, though. Curran, Pooran, and Mayank helped KXIP post 183. KKR overcame the target with two overs to spare. Shubman Gill scored 65, and Chris Lynn contributed 46. 

We will come back with a KKR vs KXIP match prediction for the IPL 2020 season closer to the match. We will also provide news and analysis on all the games on our Today Match Prediction page

KKR vs KXIP Head to Head

The big gap in the KKR vs KXIP head to head is evident from their history of results. They have played as many as 25 times and KXIP has managed to win just 8 of those contests. One of the issues with KXIP is that they haven’t been able to zero in on a core team over the years. Also, all players are not able to deliver consistently over the duration of the tournament. They have won some matches with unbelievable ease. But their abject failure in other matches has been almost embarrassing.

Games played: 25

KKR wins: 17

KXIP wins: 9

No result: 0

KKR vs KXIP Results by Year

May 3, 2019 – 52nd Match at Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali, Chandigarh (night)

Kings XI Punjab 183/6 (20 ov) vs Kolkata Knight Riders 185/3 (18/20 ov)

Kolkata Knight Riders won by 7 wickets (with 12 balls remaining)

Best Batsman: Shubman Gill *65 (49) & Best Bowler: Sandeep Warrier 2/31 (4)

Mar 27, 2019 – 6th Match at Eden Gardens, Kolkata (night)

Kolkata Knight Riders 218/4 (20 ov) vs Kings XI Punjab 190/4 (20 ov)

Kolkata Knight Riders won by 28 runs

Best Batsman: Nitish Rana 63 (34) & Best Bowler Andre Russell 2/21 (3)

YearWinnerWon byVenue
2019Kolkata Knight Riders7 WicketsMohali
2019Kolkata Knight Riders28 RunsKolkata
2018Kolkata Knight Riders31 RunsIndore
2018Kings XI Punjab9 WicketsKolkata
2017Kings XI Punjab14 RunsMohali
2017Kolkata Knight Riders8 WicketsKolkata
2016Kolkata Knight Riders7 RunsKolkata
2016Kolkata Knight Riders6 WicketsMohali
2015Kolkata Knight Riders1 WicketKolkata
2015Kolkata Knight Riders4 WicketsPune
2014Kolkata Knight Riders3 WicketsBangalore
2014Kolkata Knight Riders28 RunsKolkata
2014Kolkata Knight Riders9 WicketsCuttack
2014Kings XI Punjab23 RunsAbu Dhabi
2013Kolkata Knight Riders6 WicketsKolkata
2013Kings XI Punjab4 RunsMohali
2012Kolkata Knight Riders8 WicketsMohali
2012Kings XI Punjab2 RunsKolkata
2011Kolkata Knight Riders8 WicketsKolkata
2010Kings XI Punjab8 WicketsKolkata
2010Kolkata Knight Riders39 RunsMohali
2009Kings XI Punjab6 WicketsPort Elizabeth
2009Kolkata Knight Riders11 RunsDurban
2008Kolkata Knight Riders3 WicketsKolkata
2008Kings XI Punjab9 RunsMohali