MI vs RR

MI is the IPL team that represents the financial capital of India, Mumbai. The success attained by this franchise is unparallel. With four IPL victories and two Champions League trophies to its name, MI is a beast in its own regard. Mumbai Indians also conquered the most recent season of IPL. This track-record is the team’s biggest strength. After struggling in the initial seasons, MI showcased a return to form that still feels fresh. The captaincy of the team currently rests in the capable hands of Rohit Sharma. Apart from being a fantastic captain, Sharma is also the team’s leading run-scorer. On the bowling end, Lasith Malinga is the leading wicket-taker of the squad.

Last 5 matches:  mumbai indians team   rajasthan royals    rajasthan royals    rajasthan royals    rajasthan royals

On the other hand, RR is a team that has struggled with allegations of unethical conduct on various occasions. The Supreme Court suspended RR in 2015 for engaging in a betting scandal two years before the verdict. CSK was the only other team to undergo the same suspension. Thus, RR was not a part of the 2016 and 2017 seasons of the IPL tournament. However, the team made its return to the format in 2018 and finished the season with the 4th position. The 2019 season was a different story altogether. Rajasthan Royals ended the most recent rendition of the IPL with the second last position at the points table.

MI and RR share a unique competitive dynamic that fans of both the teams seem to enjoy. It would be exhilarating to find out which team comes out on top in IPL’s upcoming season.

MI vs RR 2018

In 2018’s home-ground against RR, MI faced a clear defeat. Jos Buttler was declared man of the match. MI was the first team to bat, and put together a decent total of 168 runs. However, Rajasthan Royal tore through the bowling squad with ease and finished the match with 12 balls to spare. Jos Buttler’s incredible batting performance contributed significantly to Rajasthan Royals victory. He swung his bat in all the right directions and scored 94 runs in 53 balls.

Furthermore, he even retained his wicket till the very end of the match. At the bowling front, Jofra Archer and Ben Stokes of RR took two wickets each. All in all, this face-off at the Wankhede Stadium didn’t end well for Mumbai Indians.

The Mumbai Indians and Rajasthan are locked in at 11 wins each. Talk about a rivalry!

MI vs RR 2019

Rajasthan Royals stood its ground once again in 2019. However, this match was much more of a close-call compared to the last year. Mumbai Indians batted the 1st innings yet again. This time around, the team amassed a respectable total of 187 runs at the loss of 5 wickets. Quinton De Kock and Rohit Sharma exhibited steady batsmanship and did most of the heavy lifting. However, despite attacks from all fronts, MI was unable to disintegrate RR’s successful chase of the target score. Jos Buttler gave a jaw-dropping performance and earned the player of the match title once again. He scored 89 quick runs in 43 balls. Ajinkya Rahane and Sanju Samson helped fill the gaps that Buttler missed. Jofra Archer of Rajasthan Royals took 3 wickets down. 2 of the players that he sent back to the pavilion were Rohit Sharma and Quinton De Kock (both were caught out). What’s even more interesting is that Jos Buttler was the one who caught the ball both the times.

MI vs RR Match Prediction

The last match played between MI and RR could have gone either way. However, Rajasthan Royals bested MI’s target score in the final over of the match. Players delivered steady performances from both the teams. The final scorecard declared RR’s victory with 5 wickets to spare, and 5 balls to face.

MI vs RR Live

IPL’s new season is just around the corner. So, if you plan on tuning in to the action from the get-go, renew your TV subscriptions. Otherwise, research the official broadcasters in your region, and decide what option works the best for you. Given the magnitude of the tournament, several online streaming platforms also bring live coverage to global audiences.

MI vs RR Head to Head

MI and RR have gone head-to-head against each other for a total of 23 times. Out of all these clashes, only 22 were played. Out of the 23 matches between both the teams, one was abandoned before even the first ball was bowled. Thus, both teams have won 11 matches each against each other.

This balance between victories and losses makes every interaction between both these teams a nail-biting ordeal. However, when the overall tournament performances of these franchises are compared, Mumbai Indians hold the higher ground. After all, MI is the most decorated team in the history of the IPL tournament. Mumbai Indians gave its worst performance in the 2009 edition of the Indian Premier League. That was the only and only year in which MI did not make it to the top 5 spots on the points table. However, the Rajasthan Royals also boast a robust line-up.

The 2-year suspension faced by RR doesn’t take away from the fact that this team won the inaugural edition of IPL. RR also held the runner-up position in 2013’s Champions League Twenty20 tournament. This team has all the required ingredients to become a fierce competitor in 2020’s IPL. When we take a look at the batsmen with the most runs among MI and RR, Sanju Samson tops the list. Dhawal Kulkarni of Rajasthan Royals has taken the most wickets.

Games played: 233

Rajasthan Royals wins: 11

Mumbai Indians wins: 11

No Result: 1

36th Match, (D/N) at Jaipur, Apr 20 2019

Mumbai Indians 161/5 vs Rajasthan Royals 162/5 (19.1/20 ov, target 162)

Royals won by 5 wickets (with 5 balls remaining)

27th Match, (D/N) at Mumbai, Apr 13 2019

Mumbai Indians 187/5 vs Rajasthan Royals 188/6 (19.3/20 ov, target 188)

Royals won by 4 wickets (with 3 balls remaining)

47th match, (N) at Mumbai, May 13 2018

Mumbai Indians 168/6 vs Rajasthan Royals 171/3 (18/20 ov, target 169)

Royals won by 7 wickets (with 12 balls remaining)

21st match, (N) at Jaipur, Apr 22 2018

Mumbai Indians 167/7 vs Rajasthan Royals 168/7 (19.4/20 ov, target 168)

Royals won by 3 wickets (with 2 balls remaining)

YearWinnerWon ByVenue
2019Rajasthan Royals5 WicketsJaipur
2019Rajasthan Royals4 WicketsMumbai
2018Rajasthan Royals7 WicketsMumbai
2018Rajasthan Royals3 WicketsJaipur
2015Mumbai Indians8 RunsMumbai
2015Rajasthan Royals7 WicketsAhmedabad
2014Mumbai Indians5 WicketsMumbai
2014Mumbai Indians25 RunsAhmedabad
2013Mumbai Indians33 RunsDelhi
2013Rajasthan Royals7 WicketsJaipur
2013Mumbai Indians4 WicketsKolkata
2013Rajasthan Royals87 RunsJaipur
2013Mumbai Indians14 RunsMumbai
2012Mumbai Indians10 WicketsJaipur
2012Mumbai Indians27 RunsMumbai
2011Rajasthan Royals10 WicketsMumbai
2011Rajasthan Royals7 WicketsJaipur
2010Mumbai Indians37 RunsJaipur
2010Mumbai Indians4 RunsMumbai (BS)
2009Rajasthan Royals3 WicketsDurban
2009Match AbandonedDurban
2008Rajasthan Royals5 WicketsJaipur
2008Mumbai Indians7 WicketsMumbai (DY)