Royal Challengers Bangalore has dominated the group stage in several IPL seasons but has never tasted victory in the finals. RCB has reached the concluding clash of the championship thrice. Out of all three times, the opponent carried the trophy home. Their home ground is at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium. The 2019 season of the tournament was detrimental for RCB as they finished at the bottom of the table. However, the team’s phenomenal lineup is an excellent reason for their fans to be hopeful.

At the other end of our discussion is King Khan’s prized possession, Kolkata Knight Riders. KKR has won the IPL twice in 2012 and 2014. The team gave its worst performance in the year 2009. Ever since then, KKR has proved itself to be an IPL force. The players of both the teams hold several records to their name. For instance, RCB’s most recent captain, Virat Kohli, is the highest run-scorer in IPL history. His combined total of all the seasons adds up to a magnificent 4948. Andre Russell of KKR has the highest strike rate in the tournament. Sunil Narine, yet another KKR player, follows his lead.

RCB and KKR are two very capable teams with dangerous lineups. Despite RCB’s feeble performance in the recent IPL season, fans can expect greatness from this team. We might even see a tournament-deciding clash between RCB and KKR in 2020. Virat Kohli’s abilities as a captain have presented themselves several times in his leadership of the Indian team. If he can bring the same magic to the IPL, the synchronicity would be staggering. On the other hand, KKR has done Shahrukh Khan proud twice in the past. The team must be eyeing at a 3rd IPL trophy in 2020. Simply put, both these teams hold a significant chance at winning next year’s tournament.

Last 5 matches:  kkr  kkr  kkr  kkr rcb 

RCB vs KKR 2019

The 2019 rendition of the match between RCB and KKR was yet another suspenseful affair. This time around, there was a higher target score of 206 runs to chase. However, KKR was still at the chasing end of the contest. Andre Russell’s performance was commendable once again. He earned the player of the match title at the end of the conflict. Regardless of RCB’s loss, the team delivered one hell of a performance. Virat Kohli batted a phenomenal inning and scored 84 runs in 49 balls. Ab de Villiers also brought his A-game and contributed 63 runs to the team’s total. However, KKR’s batsmen bested the target score by exhibiting a balance between explosiveness and consistency. Chris Lynn, Robin Uthappa, Nitish Rana, and Dinesh Karthik displayed remarkable batsmanship in this match. The match could have gone either way. But, the final scorecard declared KKR victorious by 5 wickets.

RCB and KKR are two very capable teams with dangerous lineups.

RCB vs KKR 2018

In the 2018 clash between RCB and KKR at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, the latter emerged victoriously. RCB was the first team to bat, and put together a target score of 176 runs. However, RCB failed to put a curb to KKR’s successful chase in the 2nd innings. Kolkata Knight Riders won the match with 6 wickets to spare, and 5 more balls to face. Chris Lynn held the prestige of being the player of the match. Virat Kohli and Brendon McCullum showcased strong batting performances. However, that wasn’t enough to prevent RCB from tasting defeat at the end of this nail-biting face-off. Andre Russell of KKR was responsible for taking three batsmen down. At the batting end, Chris Lynn was the strongest aspect of KKR’s performance. He stood his ground till the very end and amassed a total of 62 runs in 52 balls.

RCB vs KKR Match Prediction

If we base our judgment on the last clash between the two teams, RCB has an edge over KKR. Despite RCB’s unsteady participation in 2019’s IPL, the team defeated KKR in their most recent match. Virat Kohli won the player of the match title for his brilliant batting performance. He contributed a century to RCB’s total of 213 runs.

RCB vs KKR Live

IPL is a cricketing event that draws a large audience year after year. The organizing committee understands the enthusiasm of the fans. Thus, several broadcasters host live IPL matches on their networks. To get a head-start, research the official IPL broadcasting partner in your country.  After all, there will a lot to catch up to when the action begins!

RCB vs KKR Head to Head

RCB and KKR have collided head-to-head a total of 25 times. KKR had undeniably fared better when we the outcomes of these matches cumulatively. RCB has won against KKR a total of 10 times which leaves KKR with 15 victories. Virat Kohli heads the table of the top batsmen (with most runs) among both the teams. This doesn’t come as a surprise as Virat Kohli has scored the most runs in all of IPL history. However, the top 5 batsmen within the realm of the current comparison consist of 3 KKR players. Umar Gul of Kolkata Knight Riders also holds the best strike rate. At the bowling end, the top wicket-taker is Vinay Kumar of Royal Challengers Bangalore. On the contrary, KKR players dominate the table of best bowling performances (out of these 25 clashes). The top 6 bowlers in this table belong to Kolkata Knight Riders. In terms of tournament-wide records, both KKR and RCB have accomplishments to flaunt about. Apart from holding 2 IPL trophies, KKR holds the prestige of winning most consecutive matches in the tournament. Chris Gayle put together the highest individual score in IPL History when he was a part of Royal Challengers Bangalore. He also holds the record for hitting the most 100s in the contest.

Games played: 25

RCB wins: 15

KKR wins: 10

No Result: 0

Apr 5, 2019 – 17th Match at M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore

RCB 205/3 (20 ov) vs Kolkata Knight Riders 206/5 (19.1/20 ov)

Kolkata Knight Riders won by 5 wickets (with 5 balls remaining)

Best Batsman: Andre Russell *48 (13) & Best Bowler: Pawan Negi2/21 (3.1)

YearWinnerWon byVenue
2019Royal Challengers Bangalore10 runsKolkata
2019Kolkata Knight Riders5 WicketsBengaluru
2018Kolkata Knight Riders6 WicketsBengaluru
2018Kolkata Knight Riders4 WicketsKolkata
2017Kolkata Knight Riders6 WicketsBengaluru
2017Kolkata Knight Riders82 RunsKolkata
2016Royal Challengers Bangalore9 WicketsKolkata
2016Kolkata Knight Riders5 WicketsBangalore
2015Royal Challengers Bangalore7 WicketsBangalore
2015Royal Challengers Bangalore3 WicketsKolkata
2014Kolkata Knight Riders30 RunsKolkata
2014Kolkata Knight Riders2 RunsSharjah
2013Kolkata Knight Riders5 WicketsRanchi
2013Royal Challengers Bangalore8 WicketsBangalore
2012Kolkata Knight Riders9 WicketsBengaluru
2012Kolkata Knight Riders47 RunsKolkata
2012Kolkata Knight Riders42 RunsBangalore
2011Royal Challengers Bangalore4 WicketsBangalore
2011Royal Challengers Bangalore9 WicketsKolkata
2011Royal Challengers Bangalore7 WicketsBangalore
2010Kolkata Knight Riders7 WikcetsKolkata
2009Royal Challengers Bangalore6 WicketsCenturion
2009Royal Challengers Bangalore5 WicketsDurban
2008Kolkata Knight Riders5 RunsKolkata
2008Kolkata Knight Riders140 RunsBangalore