India National Cricket team

Indian Women

India Women vs New Zealand Women

9th Match, Group A, ICC Women's T20 World Cup at Melbourne, Feb 27 2020
New Zealand

New Zealand Women

India vs New Zealand Women T20 World Cup


India vs New Zealand Women T20 World Cup 2020
Match Prediction

The showdown between India and New Zealand will be the 9th match of the ICC Women’s T20 world cup and also the 5th match of Group A. It will be India’s third match in the tournament while being the 2nd outing for the White Ferns. India has made it to the semi-finals of the T20 world cup 3 times in the past. New Zealand, on the other hand, has twice made it to the finals and twice to the semi-finals. The match will be held on 27th Feb at 9.30 am IST at Junction Oval, Melbourne. The ground only recently started hosting international matches, including the recent Tri-Nation series.

Players to watch out for and why

The Indian side would enter the ground with two very strong bowlers. Poonam Yadav has been a surprise weapon, plucking 4 wickets vs. Australia and then 3wickets vs. Bangladesh, becoming one of the most lethal bowlers of this tournament. She is supported by the very efficient Shikha Pandey, who has plucked 5 wickets in the last two matches and maintained a superb economy of 3.50 and 3.65 respectively.

On the batting side, two reliable batsmen would hold the forte for India: Shefali Verma and Jemimah Rodriguez. Verma scored 68runs in the last two matches, while Rodriguez managed 60runs. Allrounder Deepti Sharma is another player to watch out, especially after her 49* knocks against Australia.

New Zealand boasts of an absolutely destructive batsman in the form of skipper Sophie Devine. Devine has been playing with a spectacular average of 82.28runs, including the magnificent 75* innings against Sri Lanka. If you wanted to bank on any White Fern, it should be Devine.

In the bowling department, New Zealand shows some problems as it lacks any consistent bowlers. It has a variety of bowlers, but each has struggled with her form in the previous matches. However, Lea Tuhuhu, Amelia Kerr and Hayley Jensen should be the bowlers to watch out.

Who will win and why

The prediction becomes hard here, as it is a matter of statistics vs form. The White Ferns have a rather illustrious legacy behind them, including their performance in the previous world cups. New Zealand and India have faced each other a total of 11 times till now and New Zealand has emerged victorious in 8 of them. Even in the 3-match Indian tour of New Zealand last year, the Indian side was annihilated with a 3-0 defeat. Yet, the Indian Women’s team has had a great form in the tournament so far. They won their warm-up match against West Indies and their last two matches of the tournament.
India National Cricket team
India to win

Live Cricket Odds
India vs New Zealand Women T20 World Cup


India vs New Zealand Women T20 World Cup Statistics

IND-W159/4lost to161/7NZ-W10/02/19India Women tour of New Zealand 2018/19
IND-W135/6lost to136/6NZ-W08/02/19India Women tour of New Zealand 2018/19
IND-W136lost to159/4NZ-W06/02/19India Women tour of New Zealand 2018/19
IND-W194/5beat160/9NZ-W09/11/18ICC Women’s T20 World Cup
IND-W128/7beat126/8NZ-W15/07/15New Zealand Women tour of India 2015
Harmanpreet Kaur (c)Allrounder
Taniya Bhatia †Wicketkeeper batsman
Harleen Deol
Rajeshwari GayakwadBowler
Richa Ghosh
Veda KrishnamurthyMiddle-order batsman
Smriti MandhanaOpening batsman
Shikha PandeyAllrounder
Poonam YadavBowler
Arundhati ReddyBowler
Jemimah RodriguesMiddle-order batsman
Shafali VermaOpening batsman
Deepti SharmaAllrounder
Pooja VastrakarBowler
Radha YadavBowler
Sophie Devine (c)Batting allrounder
Rosemary Mair
Suzie BatesAllrounder
Lauren Down
Maddy GreenMiddle-order batsman
Holly HuddlestonBowler
Hayley JensenBowler
Leigh KasperekBatting allrounder
Amelia KerrAllrounder
Jess Kerr 
Katey Martin †Wicketkeeper batsman
Katie Perkins
Anna PetersonTop-order batsman
Rachel Priest
Lea TahuhuBowler
Live Scores

2nd T20I (N), West Indies tour of Sri Lanka at Pallekele, Mar 6 2020

3rd ODI (D/N), Zimbabwe tour of Bangladesh at Sylhet, Mar 6 2020


India National Cricket team
australian flag cricket


100% UP TO ₹2500
Exclusive Welcome Bonus
₹10,000 PLUS 100 FREE SPINS
Exclusive Welcome Bonus
Profit Boost
₹2,000 FREE BET
New Player Bonus
100% up to ₹2500
Welcome Bonus
Read Review