India National Cricket team

Indian Women

India Women vs Sri Lanka Women

14th Match, Group A (N), ICC Women's T20 World Cup at Melbourne, Feb 29 2020
Sri Lanka Women 113/9
India Women 116/3 (14.4/20 ov)
IND Women won by 7 wickets (with 32 balls remaining)
Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka Women

India Women vs Sri Lanka Women T20 World Cup

India Women vs Sri Lanka Women
T20 World Cup 2020 Match Prediction

The showdown between India and Sri Lanka will be the 14th match of the ICC Women’s T20 world cup and the 8th match of Group A. It will be the 4th match for India and the 3rd for Sri Lanka. The match will be held on 29th Feb (9.30 am IST onwards) at the Junction Oval ground in Melbourne. 

India are looking in good shape having beaten New Zealand by a mere 3 runs in recent India vs New Zealand Women T20 World Cup 

Players to watch out for and why

While the Indian team doesn’t boast of a superstar player, it has enough capable names to its credit. The first name would be Shafali Verma, who has been quite consistent so far in the game – scoring 114 runs in the last 3 matches. She is aided by Jemimah Rodriguez who can be trusted to get some quick runs. The bowling attack of the Indian team is helmed by its magic treasure called Poonam Yadav. Yadav has taken 8 wickets in the last 3 matches, becoming one of the top bowlers of the tournament. She is supported by Shikha Pandey, who has 6 wickets to her name thus far.

For Sri Lanka, however, the story begins and ends with just one person – the captain Chamari Atapattu. The skipper has been quite terrific so far, scoring 91 runs and taking 2 wickets in the last two matches. Naturally, she can be expected to continue her brilliant form. But the rest of the Sri Lankan team is, frankly, disappointing. No other player stands capable of sharing the burden of her skipper, either with the bat or the bowl.

Who will win and why

India and Sri Lanka have faced each other in 17 T20 internationals, and India has emerged victorious in 13 times. In the ICC T20 world cup, India has thrice managed to enter the semi-finals. Sri Lanka, on the other hand, has never made it past the group stage.

But the big factor here is the form of the two teams. The Indian side has been in a terrific form lately, as its rapid climb to the 4th position at the ICC T20 rankings shows (while Sri Lanka is at the 8th spot). Even in the current tournament, India has won all three of its matches so far, defeating the likes of Australia and New Zealand. Sri Lanka, on the other hand, lost both of its matches. However, the gaping flaw of the Sri Lankan team has overdependence on the skipper Atapattu, while the Indian side has many reliable players.

They face-off on Saturday, 29th February 2020, and its an easy win for India.  Cricket Betting will go one further and we expect India to be in the final against Australia so keep checking our today match prediction page for the latest.

India National Cricket team
India to win

Live Cricket Odds T20 World Cup
India Women vs Sri Lanka Women


India Women vs Sri Lanka Women T20 World Cup Statistics

Batsmen Recent FormTeamMATRunsAverageSR
Smriti MandhanaIND-W924727.44127.97
Shafali VermaIND-W1023223.2152.63
Chamari AtapattuSL-W1035535.5114.88
Harshitha MadaviSL-W99816.3381.66
Bowlers Recent FormTeamMATWicketsEcoSR
Rajeshwari GayakwadIND-W8136.3714.7
Poonam YadavIND-W5104.8411.4
Chamari AtapattuSL-W1098.2921.7
Shashikala SiriwardeneSL-W1077.1629.4
IND-W156beat105SL-W25/09/18India Women tour of Sri Lanka 2018
IND-W137/3beat134/5SL-W24/09/18India Women tour of Sri Lanka 2018
IND-W132/5beat131/8SL-W22/09/18India Women tour of Sri Lanka 2018
IND-W no result49/3SL-W21/09/18India Women tour of Sri Lanka 2018
IND-W168/8beat155SL-W19/09/18India Women tour of Sri Lanka 2018
Harmanpreet Kaur (c)Allrounder
Taniya Bhatia †Wicketkeeper batsman
Harleen Deol
Rajeshwari GayakwadBowler
Richa Ghosh
Veda KrishnamurthyMiddle-order batsman
Smriti MandhanaOpening batsman
Shikha PandeyAllrounder
Poonam YadavBowler
Arundhati ReddyBowler
Jemimah RodriguesMiddle-order batsman
Shafali VermaOpening batsman
Deepti SharmaAllrounder
Pooja VastrakarBowler
Radha YadavBowler
Chamari Atapattu (c) Batting allrounder
Harshitha Madavi
Nilakshi de Silva
Kavisha Dilhari
Ama Kanchana
Hansima Karunaratne
Achini Kulasuriya
Sugandika Kumari
Hasini Perera
Udeshika Prabodhani
Sathya Sandeepani
Anushka Sanjeewani
Shashikala Siriwardene
Dilani Manodara † Wicketkeeper batsman

*Live Match Prediction is the total odds from all major online sportsbooks expressed as a % updated instantaneously

Live Scores

2nd T20I (N), West Indies tour of Sri Lanka at Pallekele, Mar 6 2020

3rd ODI (D/N), Zimbabwe tour of Bangladesh at Sylhet, Mar 6 2020


India National Cricket team
australian flag cricket


100% UP TO ₹2500
Exclusive Welcome Bonus
₹10,000 PLUS 100 FREE SPINS
Exclusive Welcome Bonus
Profit Boost
₹2,000 FREE BET
New Player Bonus
100% up to ₹2500
Welcome Bonus
Read Review