With two IPL title wins to their name, the Kolkata Knight Riders get a lot of interest from fans all over the world. That interest will ensure that this DC vs KKR matchup is one watched by many cricket fans. While the Knight Riders have been there and done it before twice, the Delhi Capitals are yet to taste any IPL success.

The Capitals come here one year after a name change, they were previously known as the Delhi Daredevils. The hope is that after this off-field move, the Capitals can kick on and improve their on-field play to challenge for the IPL title eventually.

Last 5 matches:     


The Capitals play their home games at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in New Delhi, a place they will be hoping to bring success to over the coming years. They did relatively well last season after their name change, but now it is all about kicking on and proving their worth as an IPL franchise.

The Kolkata Knight Riders lifted the IPL trophy in 2012 and 2014, part of what was a golden age of cricket for them. They play their home games at the world famous Eden Gardens, a stadium that has seen success in the past and one they hope to bring it back to in the future.

DC vs KKR Super Over

The DC vs KKR super over will go down as being one of the most exciting and dramatic parts of the 2019 IPL season. The rare occurrence of a super over in IPL 2019 came in the game where the Delhi Capitals hosted the Kolkata Knight Riders.

This is a fascinating part of T20 cricket, with each team having one over to try and put as many runs on the board as possible. Dehli went out to bat first in the super over, and scored a respectable 10/1, with Rishabh Pant scoring six of those runs against Kolkata bowler Prasidh Krishna.

The Kolkata Knight Riders then came out to bat, knowing exactly what they needed to do to win the game. However, some brilliant variations from Kagiso Rabada held them to just seven runs in the super over, leaving Delhi as the winners of the game. The Knight Riders struggled to get any kind of momentum during their super over, mainly thanks to the bowling of Rabada who was brilliant.

Its a close contest overall. The transfer widow and IPL auction will tell us more.

DC vs KKR 2019

The DC vs KKR 2019 meeting was the one above with the super over, and although that was a dramatic ending to the game, the rest of the game was also very good.

In the initial innings, the Kolkata Knight Riders were put in to bat first, and they scored a very respectable 185 from their 20 overs. This was an innings led by Andre Russell, showing that he is one of the fastest scorers in world cricket if he gets off to a start. He scored 62 from just 28 deliveries, and an innings like that one deserved to be on the winning team. Harshal Patel was the only Delhi player to take more than one wicket, he took two from his four overs but was hit for ten runs per over in his spell, so it wasn’t all good news.

While Russell stole the headlines in the first innings, Prithvi Shaw took them in the second. He scored 99, just one shy of his century, and those runs came off 55 deliveries which is a fantastic rate. Behind him, Shreyas Iyer was the only other player to put any meaningful contribution on the board, he scored 43 runs from 32 deliveries in this game. The score of 99 was enough for Shaw to take home the man of the match award, with his team coming out on top in the super over to claim the points.

DC vs KKR Live

Many fans will be looking forward to watching DC vs KKR live after the excitement we had in the game last season thanks to the super over. The great news for IPL fans worldwide is that the league has handed out many different broadcasting rights across the globe, making the games accessible to as many people as possible.

Those who are interested in watching this game live can check the listings for their country to see who has the rights to broadcast games. This also applies to live streaming, with rights for that also handed out by the IPL. This means those who can’t or don’t want to keep up to date with this game and the many others we have in the IPL via there TV, can instead log on to a streaming service and watch there. This will be a game that many people circle on the fixture list due to having a super over last season, we can’t wait for it to take place again in 2020.

DC vs KKR Head to Head

Our DC vs KKR head to head stats take a look at the full IPL calendar, including when the Delhi Capitals were previously known as the Delhi Daredevils. This gives us the whole picture on how things have gone between these two over the years.

Games played: 25

Delhi Capitals wins: 11

Kolkata Knight Riders wins: 13

Abandoned: 1

As you can see from the figures above, there is pretty much nothing to choose between these two franchises. This has been the same for a long time, although recently they have both racked up multiple wins in a row to help their cause.

For Delhi, they have won the last three meetings between these two teams and will go into the 2020 season knowing that and feeling great because of it. All is not lost for the Knight Riders though, as they won three meetings in a row before that, and they have previously won four in a row too, so they know they can compete with the Delhi franchise. The Capitals are looking for ways to improve and become a title challenger, and keeping their winning run going against the Knight Riders is one way they can do that.

betway cricket bonus

Apr 12, 2019 – 26th Match at Eden Gardens, Kolkata (night)

Kolkata Knight Riders 178/7 (20 ov) vs Delhi Capitals 180/3 (18.5/20 ov)

Delhi Capitals won by 7 wickets (with 7 balls remaining)

Best Batsman: Shikhar Dhawan *97 (63) & Best Bowler: Chris Morris 2/38 (4)

Mar 30, 2019 – 10th Match at Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi (night)

Kolkata Knight Riders 185/8 (20 ov) vs Delhi Capitals 185/6 (20 ov)

Match tied (Delhi Capitals won the one-over eliminator)

Best Batsman: Prithvi Shaw 99 (55) & Kieron Pollard 83 (31) Best Bowler: Harshal Patel 2/40 (4)

DC vs KKR Results

YearWinnerWon byVenue
2019Delhi CapitalsOne-over eliminatorDelhi
2019Delhi Capitals7 WicketsKolkata
2018Delhi Daredevils 55 RunsDelhi
2018Kolkata Knight Riders71 RunsKolkata 
2017Kolkata Knight Riders4 WicketsDelhi
2017Kolkata Knight Riders7 WicketsKolkata
2016Kolkata Knight Riders9 WicketsKolkata
2016Delhi Daredevils27 RunsDelhi
2015Kolkata Knight Riders6 WicketsDelhi
2015Kolkata Knight Riders13 RunsKolkata
2014Delhi Daredevils4 WicketsDubai
2014Kolkata Knight Riders8 WicketsDelhi
2013Kolkata Knight Riders6 WicketsKolkata
2013Delhi Daredevils7 WicketsRaipur
2012Delhi Daredevils8 WicketsKolkata
2012Kolkata Knight Riders6 WicketsDelhi
2012Kolkata Knight Riders18 RunsPune
2012Delhi Daredevils52 RunsCenturion
2011Kolkata Knight Riders17 RunsDelhi
2010Delhi Daredevils40 RunsDelhi
2010Kolkata Knight Riders14 RunsKolkata
2009Delhi Daredevils9 WicketsDurban
2009Delhi Daredevils7 WicketsJohannesburg
2008Kolkata Knight Riders23 RunsKolkata
2008Abandoned Delhi